Thursday, April 17, 2014

West Point News

County switches to all-mail voting for 4 townships

Voters in the Elkhorn, Bismark, Monterey and Lincoln townships will be voting by mail this election year rather than having to make a trip to a polling place.
At the 2012 general election, a survey was handed out to voters in those precincts asking if they preferred to receive a ballot in the mail or if they would like to continue voting at a polling place.  
The results showed that half of the voters that voted in the 2012 election preferred to be mailed a ballot.
Cuming County Clerk Bonnie Vogltance said that as a result of the survey,  and the fact that 24 percent of the voters voting in the 2012 general election voted by mail through the absentee process, she applied to the Secretary of State for the county’s SW4 precinct to be designated as an all-mail precinct. Based on the information submitted, she received Secretary Gale’s approval.
Also a factor in the request, she said, was that the current polling site needs many alterations to comply with the Americans with Disability Act to qualify it as an election site.
Vogltance sent a letter to Elkhorn, Bismark, Monterey and Lincoln township voters telling them that ballots will be mailed out to all registered voters not more than 20 days and not less than 10 days before an election.  
The postage to return the ballots will be supplied by the county. Voting instructions will be provided along with the ballot.

For the full story, pick up the January 15 West Point News, or call 372-2461 to subscribe.

Local Weather

Click for West Point, Nebraska Forecast